DE EN

David Garcia

David Garcia, Solo Trombonist of the Zürich Opera Orchestra, was appointed to the position in 2007 by Maestro Franz Welser-Möst. He has been Principal Trombone of the Hartford Symphony, Springfield Symphony and Rhode Island Philharmonic Orchestras. Frequently in demand as a guest artist, David has played with the New York Philharmonic, the Orchestra of St. Luke's, Absolut Ensemble, Alabama Symphony, San Antonio Symphony and on Broadway.

Additionally, in Europe David regularly performs with the Tonhalle Orchestra Zürich and has also played with the Orquestra Sinfonica de Galicia (Spain). From 1997 to 2000, David was Solo Trombonist of the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino in Florence, Italy, appointed by Maestro Zubin Mehta.

A versatile low brass player, David is frequently called to play alto, tenor, bass trombone and bass trumpet, as well as historic instruments. He can be heard on the RCA and Phillips labels as well as on many opera DVD's recorded live in Zürich. His critically acclaimed performance of Jeff Tyzik'sConcerto for Trombone and Orchestra with the Hartford Symphony was broadcast live on Public Radio in 2004.

David has given master classes at the Boston University Tanglewood Institute, Yale University, Western Connecticut State University and the Zürcher Hochschule der Künste. As a native of Texas, he received a Bachelor of Music at the University of Texas at Austin and a Master of Music at The Juilliard School. His major teachers were Donald Knaub and Joseph Alessi.

As a soloist David has performed with the Hartford Symphony Orchestra and the Zürich Opera Brass Band.  In addition, he has performed recitals in Europe and the United States. 

David taught at the Zürcher Hochschule der Künste from 2010-2015 and has given Masterclasses there as well as various Universities in the United States, including Boston University Tanglewood Institute and Yale University.

A native of San Antonio, Texas, David holds a Bachelor of Music from the University of Texas at Austin where he studied with Donald Knaub and a Master of Music from The Juilliard School as a student of Joseph Alessi.

David plays:

  • THEIN tenor trombone "Belcanto" in Thein kruspe-style metal
  • THEIN small bore tenor trombone

Copyright© Thein 2015.
All Rights Reserved.

DE EN

David Garcia

David Garcia wurde im Jahr  2007 zum Soloposaunist des Opernhauses Zürich, durch den Dirigenten Franz Welser-Möst, ernannt. Davor spielte er bereits als erste Posaune  bei dem Hartford Symphony Orchestra, dem Springfield Symphony Orchestra und dem Rhode Island Philharmonic Orchestra. Auch als Gastmusiker ist er sehr gefragt und spielte bereits mit den New Yorker Philharmonikern, dem Orchester von St. Luke´s, dem Absolut Ensemble, den Alabama Symphonikern, den San Antonio Symphonikern und am Broadway.

Darüber hinaus spielte David Garcia auch im europäischen Raum wie z.B. regelmäßig mit dem Tonhalle Orchester Zürich (Schweiz) oder dem Orquestra Sinfonica de Galicia (Spanien). Von 1997 bis 2000 wurde er von dem Dirigenten Zubin Mehta als Soloposaune an das Maggio Musicale Fiorentino in Florenz (Italien) gerufen.

Als vielseitiger low-brass Musiker wird David häufig als Alt-, Tenor-, und  Bassposaunist und zusätzlich für die Basstrompete und historische Instrumente angefragt. Er ist sowohl auf den RCA- und Phillips-Labels als auch auf vielen in Zürich live aufgenommenen Opern-DVDs zu hören. Seine von der Kritik gefeierte Aufführung von Jeff Tyziks Konzert für Posaune und Orchester mit dem Hartford Symphony Orchestra  wurde 2004 im Radio live übertragen.

David hat zahlreiche Meisterkurse gegeben, z.B. an der Boston University Tanglewood Institute, an der Yale University, der Western Connecticut State University und der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste. Als geborener Texaner, machte er seinen Bachelor of Music an der University of Texas (Austin) und seinen Master of Music an der renommierten Juilliard School. Seine Lehrer waren Donald Knaub und Joseph Alessi.

Als Solist spielte David mit dem Hardford Symphonieorchester und der Brass Band der Oper Zürich. Darüber hinaus hat er bereits eine Vielzahl Konzerte in Europa und den USA gespielt.

David war von 2010 bis 2015 als Lehrer an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste tätig und gab dort zahlreiche Meisterkurse und weitere in den USA z.B. an der Boston University Tanglewood Institute und der Yale University.

Als geborener Texaner aus San Antonio hat David ein Bachelor of Music Abschluss von der Uniersität of Texas in Austin (Lehrer: Donald Knaub) und ein Master of Music von der renommierten Juilliard School (Lehrer: Joseph Alessi).

David spielt:

  • THEIN Tenorposaune "Belcanto" in Thein Kruspe-Style Metall
  • THEIN Tenorposaune mit kleiner Bohrung

Copyright© Thein 2015.
All Rights Reserved.